The Struggle is Real 

This piece was written a couple of days before the November 8, 2016 U.S Election. I was filled with so much hope and some trepidation. I include this here in my Flow as it contrasts starkly with my post-Election posts that are to follow.

One year ago I became a U.S citizen and I recently came across this note that my daughter had given to me who was 11 years old when I took my oath.

I have so much going on inside me right now. I too, like millions of women around the country have experienced work place discrimination and many other pains, humiliations and challenges resulting from the simple fact that I was born a woman. There are too many incidences that have impacted me in my life that are too personal to share publicly.

These incidences shaped me and my personal politics.

What I can say is that the struggle is real. I want things to be different for my girl and I’m raising her to be way stronger and more confident than I ever was. I’m raising her to stand up for herself and fight for her place in the world. I never want her to feel powerless, used or worthless. I want her to have the same opportunity to teach her full potential as my son does. I want her to soar.

Putting aside policies and ideology,  I just want to share how this election feels very important to me. I know it does for many others too. I feel like we are on the brink of a critical turning point. 

This is a very powerful and symbolic moment. If she crashes through that ultimate glass ceiling, we can marvel at how far we have all come and we can be energized to continue to strive for equality and change.

Mobilization has occurred in both camps and I know we are making history. I hope things go in the direction I feel is best for us all.

I feel so proud to have voted for the first woman POTUS. It felt like a very powerful and symbolic moment in my life.

I want to be very clear on this one point. I didn’t vote for her because she is a woman. I voted for her because I believe she is the most qualified candidate for the position. It’s only fair that the most qualified candidate gets the job. I know that’s not how it always plays out in the world of work, but I hope, in this case, fairness reigns.

November 6, 2016

Leave a Reply

