On Playing

May 2015 download 052

So, I’m getting back into playing. It’s been too long.  

I often feel like something is missing in me, or that I’m so restless I can hardly contain myself and I could just start walking and never stop. Sometimes I just want to disconnect from the world and hide away from everything.  The rest of the time I’m consumed with the things that make up life … loving my kids, work, house work, paper work, music, running and writing. The only time that I don’t feel like something is missing in me or feel that restless stirring inside is when I’m playing my guitar. I can remember everything I used to play but I’m rusty now. I need to get back into it.  I’m going to pick up my baby as often as I can, build up those callouses, sing as though every word and breath mattered and just do it because it is my place of peace. There within those notes, chords and rhythms. It is my flow. It’s what I should have been doing all along but it’s easy to lose sight of the things that you need when your needs are not your focus.

October 12, 2014

Leave a Reply

