Cussing

005 - Copy (2)

So I just read a piece about how we shouldn’t swear around our kids. It got me thinking about how uptight people can be about things that are just not that important to me and yet seem unmoved by things that I find deeply disturbing.

I cuss around my kids sometimes. I do this because sometimes it just comes out. I call it a ‘small eruption of verbal naughtiness’. This happens because I am human and I know it’s not the first or only time they will hear a cuss word or two in their lifetime. I know that it isn’t good for them to swear around teachers so I advise them not to. I don’t tell them that expressing yourself with colorful cuss words is inherently bad but I say that their teachers will most likely not like it and will probably be offended and get upset, and the natural consequence is that they will be in big trouble. So, they shouldn’t swear in front of teachers. I also tell them that in general, if swearing upsets people, they should show them respect and not cuss around them. If they are being bad ass with their buddies in the cussing safety zone of their bike ride home from school, that’s probably OK.

I tell them that rather than never cussing it may be a good thing to have a couple of colorful cuss words up your sleeve for when drinking with mates at the pub and then be able to use self-control when at work or other places where people may not appreciate it … like your place of worship or Granny’s house.

It did make me think about a cool boss I had a long time ago. Her name was Ellen and she taught me how to say ‘fuck’ in a classy, sexy kind of way. She was a great boss … beautiful, sharp as a tack, ‘freshly fucked’ hair style and a wonderful gutter mouth. I loved her. She also taught me that some days it’s OK to have chocolate cake, coffee and a cigarette for lunch … but that’s another story.

Another thing about cussing is that it can be helpful when dealing with pain. I cussed like a trooper during my first completely drug free labor. People could hear me down the end of the corridor. Sometimes the word ‘fuck’ comes in really handy.

I tell my kids to be kind and respectful and not cuss around people if it upsets them. I also tell them that I think we should care more about helping each other to deal with life’s pains rather than worry about trivial things like the odd little swear word.

So, cuss away friends. I think cussing is fucking awesome.

September 1, 2015

Leave a Reply

