Slowly and Surely

By Ramna Safeer

I want you to know
that the day after,
I measured the exact center
of my bedsheets and
slept there and let my body
be the burning house that
craves all my own attention.

I want you to know
that my lungs have relearned
dancing and breathing at the same time
so my feet curl themselves into smiles
on the way to my bus stop in the mornings.

I want you to know that I know what
survival tastes like.
I have too much of my own blood tucked under my tongue to ignore.

Leave a Reply

